The 5 things YOU must know about your business’s computers

If someone else is responsible for the technology in your business, it can feel fantastic that you don’t have to worry about that part of your business operation.  But whether that person is an employee, a freelance computer guy or a larger I.T. support company, the responsibility for this part of your business still ultimately lies with you.  Here’s a list of what all business owners should know about their own computers:

1. Administrator passwords – ‘Local administrator accounts’ have full access to make changes to your computers.  If you have a server, there may also be a ‘domain administrator’ account.  Make sure you have a record of these account passwords in a safe place.  If your business provides laptops and mobile phones to your staff, also keep a record of any passwords or PIN numbers that are used to secure these mobile devices (e.g. are prompted for when the device is turned on).  This may seem a bit over the top, but it only takes a disgruntled employee or an issue with your support provider and you can find yourself locked out of your own systems, at the mercy of someone else who knows the passwords when you don’t.  I’ve actually seen I.T. companies refuse to release administrator passwords.  Remember, your information is your property, not theirs.

2. Domain name details – If you have your company name registered as a domain on the internet (e.g. for your website or email addresses), make sure you know when your domain is due to expire.  Domain name registration only lasts for a certain period (commonly 1, 2 or 5 years) and must be renewed.  We’ve seen websites and emails stop in their tracks because the domain name registration company couldn’t (or didn’t) contact the business owner to process the domain name renewal.  Also associated with your domain name is a password or PIN number (sometimes known as a registry key).  This proves you are the rightful owner of the domain and is required for making any changes.  It’s a long process if you need to get this password reset because it’s been forgotten, so make sure it’s stored in a safe place.

3. Internet connection details – The modem that connects your computers to the internet is configured with some details that are specific to your account with your internet provider.  This may be as simple as a username and password, but may also include security settings or even ‘port numbers’ for allowing or denying internet access to some software programs.  If you have internet connection problems and the modem needs to be reset back to the factory defaults, this information will be lost.  It can also happen due to a power failure or if the modem is faulty.  Once again, this only takes a few minutes to document, but can save you a huge amount of time when you need it.

4. Last successful backup test – Your backups are only as good as your last successful ‘test restoration’.  If someone else manages your backups, ask them to test that they can restore the data and provide you with a monthly report so you know it’s been done.  If you look after your own backups, make sure this testing is performed by someone in your company and that you receive a report from them to show when it happened. 

5. Software licensing proof – Like the financial and taxation side of your business, the responsibility for legal software ownership rests with the business owner.  Don’t think that you’re only a small business so no-one would audit you.  Keep a safe record of your software license keys and proof of ownership (e.g. purchase receipts).  This also makes license numbers easy to find if your computer software needs to be re-installed or moved to a different computer.

Please make it your ‘New Financial Year’s Resolution’ to obtain this important information and store it safely.

19 thoughts on “The 5 things YOU must know about your business’s computers

  1. Este o realitate care fetele intră pentru tipi care sunt
    plin de duh și pot face sa rada . Jimmy Steele ( numele de scena ), a crescut în Zapata ,
    Tx pe o ferma cu parintii si sora lui . Vizavi de alb , se potrivește cu ușurință vârfurile de orice nuanțe .

  2. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute
    but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  3. I tend not to drop a leave a response, but I read a few of the comments here
    The 5 things YOU must know about your businesss computers | Off the Cuff.
    I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or do some of these responses look
    like they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I would like to follow you.
    Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your
    social community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks

  5. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article
    seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Kudos

  6. Hey There.We’re a small group of community folk and are starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us valuable info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.
    Thanks a lot!

  7. I hardly comment, but I browsed a few of the responses
    here The 5 things YOU must know about your businesss computers | Off the
    Cuff. I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be just me or does it give the impression like some of these
    responses look as if they are left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing at other online
    sites, I’d like to keep up with you. Would you list of all of all your social networking pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am happy to show that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I found
    out just what I needed. I so much indisputably will make certain to
    do not fail to remember this website and provides it
    a look on a constant basis.

  9. I truly love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply
    back as I’m hoping to create my own website and would love to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Thanks!

  10. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

